Our History
On September 10, 1978, twenty-eight people attended the first worship service in Leesburg at the First Federal Bank Community Room.  By February 1979, it was obvious that a church could be started and the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod granted the group mission church status.  On March 6, 1979, the church constitution was approved at a voter's meeting and St. Mark Evangelical Lutheran Church came into existance. 

In the beginning, a number of pastors from the area conducted services.  The first pastor, Pastor Earl Noffsinger, was installed on June 3, 1979.  By the end of 1980, the church had grown to 60 souls and the congregation began the search for land.  In the fall of 1981, 3.9 acres were bought on South Highway 27.  Planning began in May of 1983 and the church was dedicated on March 24, 1985.  Winther Hall, the kitchen, and offices were added 10 years later and dedicated on January 24, 1995.

The pastors that have served St. Mark are:
  • 1979-1990 Pastor Earl Noffsinger
  • 1991-1993 Pastor Steven Persons
  • 1994-2001 Pastor David Krenke
  • 2002-2008 Pastor Norman Kuske
  • 2009-             Pastor David Rosenau